I have cookies!!

Hooray! It’s Cookie Friday!!

Yum!

I have to admit that I had a cookie recipe I was tinkering with last week, but it didn’t really turn out the way I wanted it to. It had a lot of potential but fell flat, literally, and needs some work. I will post it once I’ve acheived a much better version of itself. It involves pistachios. 😉
I’m really more of a chocolate chip girl. I have a really good chocolate chip cookie recipe, but I wanted to start out with something a little more unconventional. I also love a good lemon cookie. I always feel like the flavor is unexpected. I have a giant jar of poppy seeds I bought on a whim at the grocery store and have been wanting to incorporate them into a lemon cookie recipe I have and love. However, today after pulling down The Cookie Bible (that’s the name of the cookbook) I found a recipe for Hungarian Lemon Poppy Seed Cookies ❤ ! I thought to myself- wow, somebody already went through the trouble of putting those two things together for me! Ha! So I decided to use the recipe straight from the book. The beautiful part about this recipe is that it’s a drop cookie! My original lemon cookie recipe is the kind you roll into a little log and slice after chilling. I like that, and there is definitely always a place for a beautiful cutout cookie as well, but the simplicity of a drop cookie just can’t be beat in my opinion. I used to own a nifty little cookie scoop, but I broke it trying to scoop out ice cream into demitasse cups while it was still too hard. I had to settle for the two spoon method. I managed.
This cookie had a nice little zip to it from the lemon glaze added to the top. I changed it up a bit by using a combination of whole wheat flour and all purpose flour. You could make the recipe completely with one or the other. I liked the darker color produced by the whole wheat flour and felt that it gave the cookie a more toothsome texture in combination with the poppy seeds. I would have preferred the cookie itself have more lemon tang so I might increase the amount of lemon zest added to the batter next time or add zest as well as the juice to the glaze. Try them out. Let me know what you think. I hope we have many more Cookie Fridays to come.

Hungarian Lemon Poppy Seeds
Recipe adapted from The Cookie Bible

2/3 cup of granulated sugar
1/2 cup (1 stick) of butter, softened
1 egg
2 teaspoons grated lemon peel (more if you like a lot of tang or want to incorporate into the glaze)
3/4 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup all purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 Tablespoon poppy seeds

Glaze:
1 cup powdered sugar
2 Tablespoons lemon juice (you may need a few drops more)
1/2 teaspoon agave syrup or honey (This made the end result shinier and gave it a more glaze-like texture)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F
For the cookies:
Beat granulated sugar and butter together in a large bowl with electric mixer on medium speed until creamy. Add egg and lemon peel and combine.
In a separate bowl, combine flour, baking soda, and salt. With mixer on low speed, gradually add flour mixture to butter mixture and then incorporate the poppy seeds.

Ready to bake!

Drop dough by teaspoonfuls 2 inches apart onto ungreased cookie sheet (I like to line my cookie sheets with parchment paper to ensure no sticking). Bake 11-13 minutes until edges are lightly browned. Let stand on cookie sheets 1 minute before transferring to wire rack to cool completely.

I forgot to take the picture before I started icing them.

For the glaze:
Combine powdered sugar, lemon juice, and agave/honey. Stir/whisk to combine.

You can add the glaze to the top of the cookies before transferring to the cookie sheet. Let the cookies cool until the glaze hardens, about 20 minutes, before storing. I plopped about half a teaspoon of glaze on each hot cookie and then spread it around. After glazing they looked a bit like Mother’s iced oatmeal cookies. If you have the patience to stripe the glaze over the top of each cookie you might end up with a prettier result. I ate a couple still warm while the glaze was runny.They were yummy.

I have a few more recipes from this week that I will try to post over the weekend. Have a great weekend- eat some cookies!!

2 thoughts on “I have cookies!!

Leave a Reply

