Green Eggs (and Ham) Scramble

Happy St. Patrick’s Day! I got a new csa box today. I will post the contents tomorrow. Also, I just wanted to report that my beet recipe was a complete failure. The recipe itself didn’t taste too bad, but the beet flavor was too strong to be palatable to my two beet haters. I will still post it later with a hopefully, more successful recipe as I have more beets to play around with from today’s box.
This morning I made green eggs and ham! I thought it would be a perfect way to celebrate St. Patrick’s Day and get a nice hefty dose of veggies in my family this morning. I woke up feeling a bit under the weather and wanted an extra punch of vitamins to help me out. It was delicious and all plates were cleaned. My husband even asked if there was more! 🙂 I usually like my morning omelettes with plenty of sauteed veggies inside, but my daughter is more likely to pick them out. I could have done without the chopped ham inside, but that’s just me. It might have been nicer to have ham steaks on the side, but all I had was preservative free deli ham so that’s what I used. You can’t have green eggs and ham without the ham! This is a fun, celebratory way to get your kiddos to eat their greens! On a side note, I kind of wished I had made a batch of dill potatoes to go on the side, that would have been perfect!

Green Eggs and Ham scramble with a buttered English muffin on the side.

Green Eggs and Ham Scramble (Feeds 3-4)
6 eggs
about 2 cups of loosely packed baby spinach
Half a stalk (sliced lengthwise) of green garlic if you can find it. Substitute 1 clove of finely minced regular garlic
one big handful of chopped fresh dill
1 large bunch of broccoli (can substitute zucchini or kale or any other green veggie, or even cauliflower. The broccoli florets give the scramble a nice texture)
3 wedges of Laughing Cow original Swiss (optional) Can also use goat or other soft cheese
salt and pepper to taste
1/2 tbsp butter (I used a bit of green garlic butter I had leftover)
oil for cooking eggs
about half cup of chopped ham, optionally you can serve ham steaks on the side or omit altogether for a vegetarian scramble

Place a small pot with about 2 cups of water to boil. lightly salt the water.
Chop up broccoli florets, if using stalks, chop into fairly small pieces and add to boiling water first. Cook broccoli in boiling water until tender-crisp, about 2-3 minutes. Drain and immediately plunge into an ice water bath to cool.
While broccoli cooks, mince green garlic or regular garlic and sautee in pan with small amount of oil, remove from heat once tender.
Heat frying pan over med-low heat with about 1 Tbsp of oil and butter.

Sauteeing the green garlic. I'm sure some chopped green onion or leek would make a great addition to this scramble.

In a blender, or food processor (I used my magic bullet) add eggs, salt and pepper, cheese (if using), green garlic or garlic, and spinach. You may have to add spinach in two batches. Pulse until Spinach has completely incorporated into the eggs. Add broccoli and pulse again until fairly distributed through egg mixture. You should still be able to see small chunks of broccoli throughout the mixture.

Everything in my magic bullet. 🙂

Add chopped ham, if using, to heated pan. Pour in the egg mixture and stir gently until egg starts to come together. This will take about 7-8 minutes. You don’t want the heat too high or the eggs will brown. Stir in chopped dill, add more cheese if you like! Serve and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

